PlatinumGames’ Next Game Gets Broadcast with Release Date Announcement

There was a time when things like video game release dates were just shared with the world. However, over time, the video game industry has focused on building up the excitement and now PlatinumGames has announced a broadcast where they will announce the release date of their next game.

After making a pre-announcement on Twitter , PlatinumGames revealed, “We’ve kept you waiting, but our previously delayed ‘SOL CRESTA Release Date’ forum broadcast is ready to launch! Join us on Saturday, January 22 at 7:00 pm PST / 10:00 pm EST [23rd at 3:00 am UK time]. The day of decision has arrived! Gifts for viewers too! DO NOT MISS!”

For the uninitiated, Sol Cresta is the sequel to Moon Cresta and Terra Cresta, two games released in 1980 and 1985 respectively. Sol Cresta is a free-form docking and shooting game “in which you pilot an advanced Yamato docking fighter and initiate Operation: Sol Cresta to reclaim the solar system from the evil army of Mega Zohar.”

As the official sequel to the arcade shooters of the 1980s, PlatinumGames has a lot to live up to. However, the studio is familiar with such gameplay, as the genre-shifting game NieR: Automata features vertically scrolling shooter sections.

If Sol Cresta feels as good as those moments in Automata, then fans can expect a lot from the upcoming game. Speaking of what’s to come, despite the game’s initial announcement on April 1st, 2021 , Sol Cresta is real, and in just a few short days, we’ll know exactly when the game will release. More information about Sol Cresta can be found HERE and HERE .