How to Delete Files from Google Drive on iPhone

Google Drive is a widely used cloud storage for anyone with a Google account. As with any type of storage, you can only store as much as you are assigned. If you’re not a Google One subscriber, Google Drive allows you to store up to 15GB of data on your account at once, which shouldn’t take long if you use Google Drive or any other Google service all the time. 

The easiest way to free up space in your Google Drive account is to delete files you no longer need. In this post, we will help you delete files from Google Drive on iPhone. 

How to Delete Files from Google Drive on iPhone 

You can delete files, open files and multiple files with the Google Drive app. Follow any of the sections below depending on your preferences. 

Method 1: Delete files from the Google Drive app

You can delete files you’ve saved to Google Drive directly through its iOS app. You can also use the steps below to delete folders as the mechanism involved is the same. To do this, open the Google Drive app on your iPhone and find the file or folder you want to delete. Once you find it, tap on the three-dot icon to the right of the file you want to delete. 

In the menu that appears, scroll down and select Remove. 

At the prompt, select Move to Trash. 

Method 2: Delete Open File in Google Drive App

You can also delete files after you open them in Drive. To do this, press the button with three dots in the upper right corner when they are open. 

Select Delete from the menu. 

Now click “Move to Trash” on the prompt that appears. 

Method 3: Delete Multiple Files in Google Drive App

To delete multiple files and folders from Google Drive, press and hold on any file you want to delete until it is highlighted. 

Now select the other files you want to delete and then click on the three dots icon in the top right corner. 

Select Delete from the additional menu. 

In the next prompt, select “Move to Trash”. 

When you delete a file, a “File moved to trash” banner should appear at the bottom. 

What happens when you delete a file from Google Drive?

When you delete a file from Google Drive, Google doesn’t permanently delete it. The deleted file is sent to the Recycle Bin and stored there for the next 30 days before it is automatically deleted. Google is giving you this 30-day time window to help you recover these files should you need them soon and avoid costly mistakes. 

You can either leave the deleted files in the trash and wait for Google to delete them, or delete them permanently yourself before the 30-day period expires. Once permanently deleted, you will no longer be able to recover these files. In exceptional cases, Google can still help you recover files that you have permanently deleted. To do this, you may need a Google One account, through which you can contact the Google support executives by phone, text or email and ask them to restore the desired file. 

If you’ve shared a file that you’ve sent to the trash, others will still be able to view it until the file is permanently deleted. If the file you deleted doesn’t belong to you, deleting it from your Google Drive account won’t prevent other users from accessing it. 

How to permanently delete a file from Google Drive

As we explained above, deleting a file from Google Drive does not delete it permanently, at least not for a while. To delete it permanently, you need to first send it to the Google Drive Trash by deleting it. Once sent to the Trash, you can permanently delete these files. 

Method 1: Remove Files from Trash Permanently

Open the Google Drive app and tap the Hamburger menu icon in the top left corner. 

In the sidebar that appears, select Trash. 

If you only want to delete the previously deleted file, click on the three dots icon on the right. 

Now select “Permanent Delete” to permanently delete the file from Google Drive. 

At the next prompt, click Permanently Delete. 

Method 2: Delete open files permanently

You can also permanently delete a file by opening it from the Trash folder and then clicking the three dots icon in the top right corner. 

In the additional menu, select Delete permanently. 

Then click “Permanently Delete” at the prompt again to confirm the deletion. 

Method 3: Delete Multiple Files Permanently

You cannot delete multiple files from the Trash at once by selecting them. However, you can delete all files that are in the Google Drive Bin folder and tap on the three dots icon at the top right corner of the Bin screen.

Then select Empty Trash.

At the next prompt, click Permanently Delete. 

Все файлы в папке bin будут удалены навсегда, и вы не сможете их восстановить в будущем.  

Как восстановить файлы, которые вы отправили в корзину

Google позволяет вам восстанавливать файлы, которые вы удалили с Google Диска, до тех пор, пока вы не превысите 30-дневный срок. Если вы удалили файл с Диска и с тех пор прошло более 30 дней, вы не сможете восстановить его с Диска самостоятельно. Вы можете восстановить только файлы, которые вы недавно удалили и отправили в корзину в течение 30 дней после их удаления. 

Способ 1: восстановить файл из корзины Google Диска

Чтобы восстановить файлы из корзины Google Диска, откройте приложение Google Диска и коснитесь значка меню «Гамбургер» в верхнем левом углу.

На появившейся боковой панели выберите Корзина. 

Чтобы восстановить файл из этой папки, нажмите на значок с тремя точками справа от файла, который вы хотите восстановить. 

В дополнительном меню выберите Восстановить. 

Выбранный файл будет восстановлен, и внизу появится баннер «<имя файла> восстановлен». Файл будет виден внутри папки, в которой он ранее находился на Google Диске, и вы сможете получить к нему доступ оттуда. 

Способ 2: восстановить открытый файл из корзины Google Диска

Вы также можете восстановить файл из корзины, открыв его из папки корзины, а затем нажав кнопку «Восстановить» (отмеченную часами) в правом верхнем углу. 

Это все, что вам нужно знать об удалении файла с Google Диска на iPhone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.