What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram

Social media can give us a great insight into other people’s lives. While this is a useful tool for communicating with friends, accessing it can easily become a hassle. Some people abuse the anonymity of the online environment to harass others.

If you’ve experienced this type of harassment on Instagram and are looking for a way to curb it, the ‘restrict’ feature can help you. Here’s what you need to know about this tool and what happens when you restrict someone on Instagram.

What is a limit function?

In 2019, Instagram launched the “restrict” feature to combat cyberbullying and build a more positive community. Cyberbullying has been a common problem on the platform. Using the restriction feature is just one of the tools that can be used against bullies or unwanted interactions.

Basically, you can use this feature to subtly restrict someone’s access to your account. This tool is designed to render the aggressor’s attempts to cause embarrassment fruitless. At the same time, you can avoid direct confrontation, which can further exacerbate the problem.

For example, if someone ruthlessly left rude comments under each of your posts, restricting that user could nip the problem in the bud. The restriction will also protect your direct messaging space from their unwanted calls and messages. However, you will still be able to interact with the user you have restricted whenever you want.

Due to its covert nature, the restriction can be used for purposes other than combating harassment. You can use it to deal with impatient followers or relatives who shower you with embarrassing comments.

What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?

Here are the changes you can expect when clicking the “restrict” button on someone’s profile:

  • Their messages will be moved to your message requests.

Whether you follow each other or not, restricting a user will redirect their messages to your “message requests” folder. This also includes their responses to your stories. You can find your requests in the top right corner of the private messages folder.

In the Message Requests section, you won’t be notified of new messages that the person might send you. However, you will still be able to view their messages if you wish. Even if you view them, the sender will not be notified. Read receipts will be hidden, as usual in message requests, until you accept them.

If you want to reply to a restricted person, you must remove the restriction.

  • Your activity status is hidden from them.

Usually, when both parties have “Active Status” turned on, a green dot signals when your interlocutor is online, and vice versa. In addition to the bubble, you will also see exactly when they were last active. If this makes you feel uncomfortable, you can hide your activity status from all users by simply disabling this feature. However, as a result, you won’t be able to see anyone’s status either.

You can continue to use this feature and at the same time hide your activity from unwanted users by restricting them.

  • Their comments below your posts are hidden by default.

Finally, restricting a user will also hide their comments on your posts from the public. They will be able to comment as normal, but their comments will only be visible to them unless you choose otherwise. You will also not be notified of their comments.

You can view their comment by clicking “View Comment” below the hidden comment. You can click “Approve” or “Delete” or just ignore the comment from now on.

If you’re constantly dealing with unwanted comments and the problem isn’t just one or two users, there are other solutions available. Automatically hide offensive comments through the Hidden Words menu or create your own list of unwanted words. Choose who can comment on your posts, or limit activity for a set period until things settle down.

What stays the same?

As already mentioned, a restricted user will still be able to send you messages and leave comments under your posts, albeit with more options. More importantly, they will still see all your content as usual – your new posts in the feed, stories, videos, accounts you follow, etc. They may like your content and their likes remain visible to other users. In addition, you will see their content as usual and be able to interact with it. If you follow them, limiting them will not result in unsubscribing.

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram

You can access the restriction function from several menus.

From user profile:

  • Find the person you want to restrict.
  • Find the three dots in the top right corner of their profile.
  • Select “Limit” and confirm your choice in the pop-up window.

From the comments:

  • Select an unwanted comment or comments by holding them on Android or swiping left on Apple.
  • Look for the exclamation mark icon in the menu at the top.
  • Select “Block (name)” and then confirm your choice.

From messages:

  • Open a conversation with the person you want to restrict.
  • Click on your username at the top.
  • You’ll find the Restrict option at the bottom of the menu that appears. Confirm your choice.

From settings:

  • Open settings and click “Privacy”.
  • Locate the Restricted Accounts menu.
  • You can add any account here by searching.

Additional FAQs

Can I cancel the restriction?

Да, вы можете снять ограничение с учетной записи в любое время. Вы можете сделать это, открыв профиль пользователя и нажав на три точки, или зайдя в настройки конфиденциальности и удалив их из списка учетных записей с ограниченным доступом. Вы также можете снять ограничение с их запроса сообщения.

В чем разница между блокировкой и ограничением кого-либо?

Блокировка считается крайней мерой, поскольку человек, которого вы заблокировали, не сможет никак с вами взаимодействовать. Кроме того, нетрудно заметить, когда вы заблокированы, поскольку профиль пользователя, который вас заблокировал, будет отображаться пустым. Вы не сможете отправлять им сообщения или оставлять комментарии. Они будут знать, что заблокированы, что может привести к неприятным ситуациям.

В отличие от блокировки кого-либо, его ограничение гораздо более осторожно. Пользователи по-прежнему будут видеть ваш контент, и у них создастся впечатление, что они по-прежнему могут взаимодействовать с вами. Это гораздо более непрямой способ избегать кого-то, не вызывая конфликта.

Будет ли пользователь знать, что я ограничил их?

Одно из основных преимуществ использования функции ограничения вместо блокировки кого-либо заключается в том, что это более тонкий способ ограничения взаимодействия. На первый взгляд они не заметят, что их ограничили.

Однако если они будут настойчивы, то рано или поздно поймут, что что-то не так. Пользователь может войти с другой учетной записи или попросить друга проверить, отображается ли его комментарий под вашим сообщением.

Могу ли я участвовать в групповом чате с ограниченной учетной записью?

Если вы окажетесь в групповом чате с пользователем, которого вы ограничили, это будет указано в примечании. Затем вы можете решить, хотите ли вы выйти из разговора.

Держите свой Instagram в безопасном месте

Очень важно, чтобы мы контролировали наши учетные записи в социальных сетях, а не наоборот. К счастью, все больше и больше настроек позволяют нам оставаться в безопасности. Отличным примером является опция «ограничить» в Instagram.

Вы когда-нибудь использовали его или предпочитаете другие инструменты конфиденциальности платформы? Напишите нам в комментариях!