What does a network settings reset do?

What does a network settings reset do?

Does your Wi-Fi cut out frequently? Is your Wi-Fi slower than before? Is your VPN unable to connect? All of these problems and more can be resolved by simply resetting the network settings on the device that is causing the problem. This is how a network reset works on your PC or mobile phone.

What does network settings reset do on iPhone?

There are a few things that happen when you reset network settings on your iPhone. Your mobile network type switches to the default value. Therefore, you will have to switch this back after resetting network settings. This usually means getting new cellular data information from your service provider, usually by following instructions via MMI codes.

Your saved Wi-Fi networks will also be deleted, as will passwords, so you should write them down before resetting.

Also, your Bluetooth devices that were previously paired will be deleted and will need to be re-paired. Basically, your device will go back to factory or original network settings.

Most other settings will not be changed (such as access point and wireless display). Your personal data will also not be changed. You will not lose notes, photos, videos, contacts and so on.

Alternatives to try before reset

Before resorting to network settings reset on your iPhone, there are a few alternatives:

  • You can try turning airplane mode on and off.
  • You can also turn off your phone and then turn it back on.
  • If you forget your Wi-Fi network and then reconnect to it, this can also sometimes fix network issues.
  • If they don’t work, you can also try resetting your modem or router.
  • Finally, you can check if your device is up to date with the latest version.

How to reset network settings on iPhone

If none of the “soft” resets solve your problem and you still want to reset network settings on your iPhone, follow these steps:

  1. Open settings.”

  2. Click General.

  3. Select Reset. In some versions, it’s “Transfer or reset iPhone”, then “Reset”.

  4. Select Reset Network Settings.

  5. Enter a password if prompted.

  6. Click Reset Network Settings again to confirm your choice.

What does a network settings reset do on Android?

Similar to resetting network settings on an iPhone, several things will be affected.

For example, all paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted and you will need to restore them after a factory reset.

You will also have to change the mobile network type back to the one you chose earlier, because resetting it will return it to the default setting. Most often, you will need to obtain new cellular data information and access point setup information from your provider. Usually they come in SMS when you first install a SIM card.

Your Wi-Fi data will also be deleted, so it’s a good idea to write down passwords for important networks so you don’t lose them forever.

As with the iPhone, this reset will not affect your personal data, as well as most other settings.

Alternatives to try before reset

There are several options you can try before resetting network settings on your Android device:

  • First, you want to make sure your device is updated to the latest version.
  • Then in the settings you can turn airplane mode on and off, which sometimes solves the problem.
  • You can also try to reboot the router rather than the device connected to it. Turning it on and off sometimes fixes basic NAT routing.
  • This also applies to your modem, which you can also try to reset.
  • Another option is to turn off the device and then turn it back on.
  • If none of this works, you can try turning Wi-Fi off and then reconnecting to it after a few seconds.

How to reset network settings on Android

Resetting network settings is usually a last resort. Here’s how to do it on an Android phone:

  1. Open settings.”

  2. Go to System, About Phone, or Connections and Sharing, depending on your model.

  3. Select Advanced. If right on the “connections screen”, you can skip this.
  4. Click “Reset Options” (sometimes with an indication of what is being changed).

  5. Select Reset Network Settings. You can choose which aspects of the network (Wi-Fi, Cellular, and Bluetooth) to reset individually.

  6. Click Reset Settings to confirm.

Most new builds of Android have a search feature in Settings that will take you directly to Reset Network Settings.

What does a network settings reset do on a PC?

Simply put, resetting network settings on a PC will return all Wi-Fi, VPN, and Ethernet settings to factory defaults. This will also reset the Bluetooth, network and Bluetooth settings to their original state. It will basically remove all that information and then reinstall them.

When you turn your computer back on after resetting your network settings, you will need to reconnect your Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and VPN devices, so it’s important to write down any associated passwords. Just like resetting network settings on iPhone and Android, your personal data and files will not be affected or affected in any way.

Alternatives to try before reset

Before resetting network settings to factory settings, there are a few ideas to try on a PC, just like on iPhone and Android.

First, you can check if the Internet is working normally on other devices. If so, you can be sure that the problem is with your computer and not with the Internet itself. You can also try resetting your router and modem.

If that doesn’t work, you can turn your computer off and on again to see if the problem fixes itself. Sometimes, leaving the computer on for too long can cause problems. Finally, make sure that your device is up to date and that all updates for your device’s apps are installed.

How to reset network settings on PC

If you need to reset your PC’s network settings, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open Start, then go to Settings.

  2. Click “Network and Internet”.

  3. Select “Status” on the left side of the screen.

  4. Click Network Reset.

  5. Click the “Reset Now” button.

  6. Click “Yes” to confirm.

Frequently asked Questions

Why didn’t these steps fix my Wi-Fi speed?

There is a chance that these steps will not improve the internet speed on your device. There may be several reasons for this.

You may have a slower Wi-Fi package than required for your data and may need to upgrade. This can be done by contacting your service provider.

Another reason why your Wi-Fi may be slow may be that there are too many unauthorized users using your network. To avoid this, change your password once you’ve reset your network settings to something you remember but hard to guess. An example would be a password that consists of a combination of uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols.

Will this remove my Wi-Fi passwords?

Yes. It is recommended that you write down all passwords for Wi-Fi networks, as they will be deleted when you reset your network settings.

Will my personal data be affected?

None of your personal data (such as photos, videos, files, etc.) will be affected during this process. They will not be removed or modified in any way.

Is it safe to reset network settings?

Yes. This process will not harm your device in any way. This will only reset the network settings to their default state.

Are device reset and network reset the same thing?

No. These are two completely different processes. Although this article focuses on resetting the network, it is very important to know that resetting the device will reset the entire device to factory settings, which will result in the loss of personal data on your device.

You are all (re)installed

Resetting the network settings on your device should be the last resort. There are many alternatives that you can take before resetting your network settings (such as turning your device off and on, restarting your router or modem, etc.). However, resetting network settings is completely safe and you won’t lose any personal data.

Do you have problems that reset network settings did not solve? Let us know how you solved your problem in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *